To squeeze or not to squeeze?

This week Nate and I get to pack our bags, buy our Polar Pops, and travel to Kentucky (insert clapping, congratulations, and man-slaps on the back here) . We’re going to the beautiful area where I grew up and then to the Bible College my parents graduated from. While we’re there I get to see basically my 3 sisters from another mother!! I’m super pumped to see them, which has gotten me thinking. Sometimes when I get really excited I start acting like a 3-year old, jumping up and down, waving my hands.  It’s not pretty; there are jazz fingers involved.

So usually, all this excitement gets bundled up into one motion, when I see the person and the moment arrives. You make your way towards them and then it happens. The HUG. I used to go for the ‘squeeze the person so hard they pee a little while spinning them around so they lose all their bearings and can only think of how happy they are to see me for at least 5 seconds’ hug. But, now that I’m older and much more mature, I’m wondering which hug to give when I see them. Do I just add in a little extra squeal and a little less squeeze? Or maybe cut the spinning and go for a squeeze/squeal moment? Do I cut all 3 and show my sophisticated side by going over, under and giving like a soft ‘aaahhh’ sound. I’m just not sure.

Any suggestions on clutch hugs? I’m gonna try super hard to make sure I’m off caffeine and enjoy a calm, but happy greeting, but honestly, I just don’t think it’s going to happen! Wish me luck =)