Great Gobs of Goose Grease

We arrive at the farm, walk into Grandma and Grandpa’s living room. Hugs for Grandma….

Grandpa walks in and proceeds to change in the middle of the room. He drops his pants. We gasp and close our eyes. Thankfully, my Grandpa was wearing like 3 pairs of pants…just don’t question it. Of course, there is nothing weird to him about changing in front of all of us. I mean, he still pinches my backside and says I’m “a good little boy”.

This is life on the farm. Unpredictable. Crazy. Awesome.

When I was younger, these 70 acres held the most supreme adventures. Trees, barns, mud, vines, cows, AND a basketball hoop.

Heaven.

Now that I’m less apt to play in the mud and try to catch those tiny things swimming in the creek, I walk. I walk and I don’t carry a watch, cellphone, anything. It’s so wonderful to not be constrained by time. I think I’ve truly mastered the art of ambling. Walking with no destination or goal, no time limit or task to accomplish. Walking to just enjoy the beauty.

I love the farm. I tried to capture some of the beauty for you here. It’s my first experimentation with this AWESOME camera my ‘Florida Grandma’ blessed me with for Christmas. Never thought I would own a camera this nice. I can’t wait until I understand how to use it to be super awesome.

P.S. The title is one of my Grandpa’s favorite sayings.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

